Army of India Medal 1799-1826

Corp Fredk Dalton HEIC Artillary

Corp Fredk Dalton
HEIC Artillary

The Army of India medal was granted following an announcement from East India House on 25th Feb 1851 to all survivors who had served in various actions between 1799 and 1826 so numbers for some campaigns are very small. A total of 21 Bars were attributable for this medal with the ones illustrated here as follows:

AVA 1824-26 – Approx 2294 Ava Bars awarded with 164 to the HEIC Artillary. Indian troops were not awarded an Ava bar but instead received the Honourable East India Company Medal for Burma.

The First Anglo-Burmese War (5 March 1824 – 24 February 1826) was the first of three wars fought between the British and Burmese Empire in the 19th century. The war, which began primarily over the control of northeastern India, ended in a decisive British victory, giving the British total control of Assam, Manipur, Cachar and Jaintia as well as Arakan Province and Tenasserim. The Burmese were also forced to pay an indemnity of one million pounds sterling, and sign a commercial treaty.

The war was the longest and most expensive war in British Indian history. Fifteen thousand European and Indian soldiers died, together with an unknown number of Burmese army and civilian casualties. The high cost of the campaign to the British, five million pounds sterling to 13 million pounds sterling (roughly 18.5 billion to 48 billion in 2006 US dollars), led to a severe economic crisis in British India in 1833.

For the Burmese, it was the beginning of the end of their independence. The Third Burmese Empire, for a brief moment the terror of British India, was crippled and no longer a threat to the eastern frontier of British India. The Burmese would be crushed for years to come by repaying the large indemnity of one million pounds (then US$5 million), a large sum even in Europe of that time. The British would make two more wars against a much more weakened Burma, and swallow up the entire country by 1885.

British Attack In Burma 1824

British Attack In Burma 1824

Michael Murphy  11th Dragoons

Michael Murphy
11th Dragoons

Bhurtpoor 17-18 January 1826 – Approx 1528 Bars awarded to Europeans of which 198 to the 11th Light Dragoons.

Maheidpoor 21st December 1817

Army of India Maheidpoor Rev - Private Hussan Khan. 1st Coy. Nizams Arty

Army of India Maheidpoor Rev – Private Hussan Khan. 1st Coy. Nizams Arty

The British, led by Sir Thomas Hislop, attacked on 21 December 1817 and defeated the army led by 11-year-old Maharaja Malhar Rao Holkar II, 22-year-old Hari Rao Holkar and 20-year-old Bhima Bai Holkar in the Battle of Maheidpoor. The Holkars were decisively defeated by British forces. The treaty was signed on 6 January 1818 at Mandsaur (Treaty of Mandsaur).

Holkars accepted all the terms laid down by Britishers in Treaty of Mandsaur.At the conclusion of this Third Anglo-Maratha War, the Holkars lost much of their territory to the British and were incorporated into the British Raj as a princely state of the Central India Agency.

This battle led to the final destruction of Maratha power. Baji Rao II, who was trying to consolidate Marathas, finally surrendered in June 1818. British abolished the position of Peshwa, and Marathas were limited to the small kingdom of Satara until its annexation to Bombay state in 1848.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s